Welcome to the Heroes of Newerth forums

The forums have received a complete makeover. Click the button below to read more about it.
Read more
datfizh

Middle Lane Hero(es)

I open this discussion because recently I saw several threads discussing the heroes at middle lane, Hellbringer and Arachna for instance. So, let me ask the other's opinion about:

• Which hero(es) do(es) usually take middle lane?
  • What's so good about the hero(es) mentioned on previous question so (s)he worth takes middle lane?
  • Which hero(es) do(es) possibly contest the hero(es) mentioned in first question? Or what kind of strategy is needed to contest the hero?

This is my first time opening this discussion, so I also open up the feedback about this thread as well. Though, those questions still needs to be answered beside the feedback given.

Thank you.

Posted (edited)

A mid hero can do multiple different things and any hero that does any of those well, can go mid. That doesn't mean it's a good or the best choice, but an option.

1. Good Harassment of enemy, forces enemy to miss last hits or use more regen - Magmus (for meele), Salforis and Thunderbringer are good examples
2. Good push, if enemy leaves mid they loose xp and their tower is going down fast  - Balphagore and Defiler
3. Good gank, if you win top and bottom because you can gank a lot, you win games - a lot of heroes do this, including Hellbringer and Arachna
4. Good rune control, which kinda only buffs the 3rd point, but is worth extra mentioning - example: bubbles

Answering the counter-question is kinda difficult. Mid lane is not (only) about winning mid-lane.
If your enemy harasses you, you can pick a ganker. Simply leave him alone and win other lanes.
If you encounter a ganker, you can pick a pusher. If he ganks, you kill his tower.
If you encoutner a pusher, you can pick good harassment and prevent him from farming/pushing.

Edited by Manu311
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

26 minutes ago, datfizh said: