Welcome to the Heroes of Newerth forums

The forums have received a complete makeover. Click the button below to read more about it.
Read more

A letter to the respected developers of the game HON

Hello dear developers of the game HON, I am a student and a novice programmer in the field of web development, I am your ardent fan, I have been playing Hon since 2012-2013, and I am very sorry to see what happens to the once strong game, which could be on a par with LOL or DOTA 2, and I don't want to be idle or just score on the game, I want to help you somehow, but maybe my skills today are not able to help you in raising the game from the bottom, but I would like to know if it is possible to hit to you as a junior developer in the web sphere, or in the development sphere, even for a $ 200-500 salary, and a 12-hour work schedule, but I do not want the death of the game, I do not want to see the sunset HON, I want to see the shining dawn of the game , please tell me what technology stack you need, what languages do you use, and who do you need at all, and I give you my word, I will study them and get to you, I do not want and can not let my favorite game sink into oblivion. I hope you will read this post and treat my ditch with understanding to help you.

• Like 1

Hi there,

I'm no (HoN-)developer, but I have been in contact with a lot of them in the past, so I might be able to answer enough of your questions.
First of all, it's unlikely, that FB/GG will pay you (enough to make a living). But if you're willing to work for free, there might be chances for you to help.

It's probably the easiest to start on your own, since most of the "source code" of HoN is already view- and editable by you! Those resource-files which HoN provides are just zip-compressed and contain a lot of scripts. Primarily they are a mixture of xml and lua and you can create mods which change those files.