Thread: Hon Skills - A psychological model

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Lightbulb Hon Skills - A psychological model

Hon Skills - A psychological model

Hey Hon Community,

I just lost another game on 1700 against opponents who were clearly better players than I am and I was asking myself again: How can it be that after nearly 3k games there are still players who can outplay me so easily. Am I just stupid? Do I have to train more? Thats why i made this thread. Its a try to describe why some people are just better than others. Its nothing empiric just a few thoughts I made over the years of playing HoN.

About myself: I'm playing HoN since beta release and i got about 3k games on 2 accounts. With my main account i reached 1700 MMR. Though I think i got enough experience and skill to call myself a good player there are still many players who a better than i am.
    I'm a psychology student which gives me some expertise on this topic but i think anyone can follow my thoughts in this thread.

The model:
    On the following few paragraphs i will describe my model about Video Game Skills in general and HoN Skills in particular. To make things clear i would like to define skills first and explain the model aftwerwards.

Skills:
    If i talk about skills in this thread i will refer to the theoretic construct that makes people successfull players in HoN. Success can be measured at some quantitive factors like rating, kd and kda. On the other hand there are some very good players who dont have extemely good stats (especially in the competetive scene) which makes it hard to tell if you got a good player before watching him play. Ingame skilled players will have better reactions, ideas and tactical teamplay than others which increases their chance to win.

The four parts of skills: