Thread: Improving the pregame game

View Poll Results: Good ideas?

Voters
5. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes!

4 80.00%
  • No, I don't have that problems and don't care about new players.

1 20.00%

Improving the pregame game

I'm fairly new to HoN and didn't play Dota before, so maybe some of the suggestions I'm making are bullshit for experienced users or clan fighters that always talk to their opponents before making a game, but I think new players and pubs are a great deal of players, that could need love too.

My main concerne with the game is the so called "pregame game" meaning finding a nice game I want to be in. There are some slight obstacles in this making it harder than it is (as my oppinion as a computer scientist student and experienced database programmer) necessary.

You want to play a game. You start the game list, wait for X seconds, you see a game, want to join it, have to load. The game is a 5 man pubstomp of 1600+ titled "noob only"... you leave. You have to wait again for X seconds for the game list to load, see another game, join, load again, the host is cherrypicking and you either get +2psr with 95% winchance or COULD get lots of psr but have 5% chance to win... no fun at all. You leave again, have to wait, pick, load, ... and so on.

- Refreshing the game list
    When you open the game list and want to find a quick game...it lasts for 10-30 seconds for the game list to load. The board is randomly build and there come entries some seconds after the first are shown. What I think you're doing is, that you call each server and then ask him for the games he's hosting and checking his ping.
    Why not let every server write his games in a central database and then just make calls on that and present it. Even if you ping the servers afterwards, and insert the ping after they're shown when they answered.