Thread: The Worst Mistakes (mini-guide)

Account Icon

The Worst Mistakes (mini-guide)

Intro:
    First of All Im Mercfh, I've been playing DOTA for a good 5 years. since back in the Eul's days. While Im not a super awesome guide writer, I figured i'd write a short guide about the biggest mistakes I see new players make. So this short little (subjective) guide may help new players, and vets alike. Like i said, this isn't meant to be some long epic guide, but more a series of tips to help out.

Why We Need a Guide:
    Most people honestly feel they know how to play the game, and honestly most people who've played for a decent amount of time know what they are doing. BUT even I see experienced players make the same mistakes over and over again. Plus it doesn't hurt for new players to have some tips on how not to get bloodlusted within 2 min into the game.

Also i know alot of this may seem like "common sense" to some. but for others it isn't, and sadly I see people do these things more often than I should, so a nice reminder is always handy.

The ListAP GAMES ONLY, NO EM)

Items
    -Possibly the biggest mistake made by most newer players is items. I see all sorts of things and one should always read guides to get a familiar understanding of good items to build with heroes. But Im here to explain something I see WAY too much of.
    Boots+Relic's. This is an extremely poor item choice with the exception of a few heroes (Swiftblade namely, for firstblood). Why is it such a poor choice? Well because most smart players are going to be harassing. ALOT and boots somewhat give a false impression of safety, but with no stats it's actually alot more hampering to your hero.