Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread. Thread: Why cant I start HON? is it windows 7?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. #1

    Why cant I start HON? is it windows 7?

    I have tried to start Hon for a while now. ive un installed and re installed and it never works. is HON uncompatible with windows 7?

  2. #2
    yes, you might need to run it as administrator..

    Either click properties and enable windows pack compatibility
    apply then ok then run as administrator.

    I use windows 7 and it didnt had problems it could be u didnt run it on administrator

  3. #3
    I'm on Windows 7 x64 Premium and I don't have any problems at all.

    I do have a friend who struggles with a lot of games without disc on Windows 7 x32 Home. HoN & Bloodline Champions are the ones he'd mentioned.

  4. #4
    Offline
    Account Icon
    Chat Symbol
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Earth, UK, England, Middlesbrough
    Posts
    7,281
    i use win 7 havent had a problem, 32bit.

  5.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #5
    The console.log will have a more detailed error message. Saying HoN doesn't start tells me nothing.
     

  6. #6
    Offline
    Account Icon
    Chat Symbol
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by IAmRoot View Post
    The console.log will have a more detailed error message. Saying HoN doesn't start tells me nothing.
    You could just grab his IP and do research
    Quote Originally Posted by JonnyL View Post
    first put on your robe and wizard hat

  7. #7
    Well seeing S2 is replying here, why won't my .zip of my console.log upload. It says I have multiple files in in the zip. I don't.

  8. #8
    ok so here is the deal. I try to start HOn and it crashes and asks if I want to save crash report then it wont let me open the file to see what happened

  9. #9
    Offline
    Account Icon
    Chat Symbol
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    11,535
    you might not have admin access or some thing.

    Forum Moderators are not S2 Games employees. My posts in no way represent the view of S2 Games or any of its staff.

    Please use the report post function to have me review a post that you believe is breaking the Forum Rules.
    Check the Sticky Threads for additional information on this sub-forum and the Announcement Threads for more information about Heroes of Newerth as a whole!

    -----------------------------


  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Abnecide View Post
    You could just grab his IP and do research
    Grab his IP and do research?

    What would there be to research? If he can't start HoN, he obviously can't log in, and the servers will have no record of any client-side issues anyways, even if he could.


    EDIT: To be helpful, go to the Heroes of Newerth folder in My Documents, and then go to the game folder. Rename the file startup.cfg to something else and then try running HoN again.

    If that doesn't help, you'll have to post the console.log file (in the same folder) to get any more help.

  11. #11
    im the only user on the computer...

  12. #12
    I got a crash report on notepad want me to post?

  13. #13
    Offline
    Account Icon
    Chat Symbol
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    11,535
    Have you tried to run hon as an administrator?

    Forum Moderators are not S2 Games employees. My posts in no way represent the view of S2 Games or any of its staff.

    Please use the report post function to have me review a post that you believe is breaking the Forum Rules.
    Check the Sticky Threads for additional information on this sub-forum and the Announcement Threads for more information about Heroes of Newerth as a whole!

    -----------------------------


  14. #14
    yes I have

  15. #15
    Offline
    Account Icon
    Chat Symbol
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    152
    Playing on laptop? Try upgrading graphic card driver.

  16. #16
    I have also tried running it in compatability mode so it runs with xp

  17. #17
    Offline
    Account Icon
    Chat Symbol
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    444
    Quote Originally Posted by Pietroswim View Post
    im the only user on the computer...
    Me too, but I somtimes have similar problems with other games.

    Right click The Hon Shortcut>Properties>Compatibility tab>Privilege level> Run This Program as Administrator Edit: Scrap that, you've already tried this

    Otherwise I'd follow that Root said and post your console log, link bellow.

    http://forums.heroesofnewerth.com/wi...hp/Console.log

  18. #18
    what do you mean by graphics card driver?

  19. #19
    Offline
    Account Icon
    Chat Symbol
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    444
    Quote Originally Posted by Pietroswim View Post
    what do you mean by graphics card driver?
    Drivers are used to function your Video/graphics card and run games.

    To find out what your graphics card is and then check for it's updates,
    Go to Start in the bottom left corner and type DxDiag>Display tab

    You should now be able to see both
    Name:
    and
    Manufacturer:

    Google the manufacturer OR name of your card. eg.
    ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series drivers
    or
    ATI Technologies Drivers

    Download The latest drivers that match the name of your video/graphics card. After installing your up to date drivers, the computer usually requires a restart. Try opening hon again to see if you still get the same error message.

    If this doesnt help, try uploading your console log like I suggested in my previous post.
    Last edited by Luka; 09-08-2011 at 10:24 PM.

  20. #20
    Offline
    Account Icon
    Chat Symbol
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    7,509
    After you find out what kind of GPU you have use one of the links below to download and update your drivers. I linked AMD, Nvidia and Intel. They all have directions on the web page. Do you know what kind of GPU you have?

    http://support.amd.com/us/Pages/AMDSupportHub.aspx

    http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •