Thread: Dungeon Siege 3 (and by extension Square Enix)

Dungeon Siege 3 (and by extension Square Enix)

So I started playing Dungeon Siege 3 (completely legally of course) a couple days ago. First I tried the demo, which actually gave me somewhat of a bad impression of the game. Interestingly, most of the merits of the game don't actually come out until you start getting into the story.

You only have 4 characters to choose from (2 in the demo), who each have 2 stances, 1 single-target stance, 1 crowd control/aoe stance, and then each stance has 3 skills attached to it. I guess what originally turned me off was that the game was forcing me into an extremely polarized class, offering 2 stances and 6 skills total to last me throughout the entire game; "What a joke", Or so I thought.

One thing that I really liked about the game was that they added something I think should have been in every ARPG since the beginning of time, and that is the ability to BLOCK. Yes, that's right, use the shield that you've been hauling around for the past 6 hours, put it in front of you, and negate the damage coming at you. It doesn't even have to be that complicated, yet (unless I've missed something), it's taken them over a decade into the 21st Century to finally do it.

But even with the ability to block, and 3 more "skills" associated with the block "stance", I still felt as though the game was missing something, and was going to get extremely boring, extremely quick.