Thread: Thinking Like the Better Player

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thinking Like the Better Player

Warning: This is a pile of text. I'll try to pretty it up later on.

Hi, I'm North2 and I've been playing DotA and HoN for a very, very long time. Throughout the years, many people have asked me how to get better at the game. While I can teach as much as I can about the technical aspects to players, I've come to realize that it is really the attitude and approach of most players that are hindering them from becoming better.

Keep in mind that I'm no pro and probably never will be. I currently don't have the passion or skill to become a pro, but I do like to believe that I have a firm grasp on how to get better at HoN.

I present this guide to you, focused on teaching people how to become Better Players.

==================================================

1) Contemplate on What YOU Can Do Better

I'll start here since everything pretty much comes back around to this. Almost everyone I know that are stuck below 1700 PSR blames everyone but themselves. Here's food for thought: The only constant in every game you play is YOURSELF.

A guy I know told me, "How was I supposed to win that game? I went 17-4 with Pyro! I started out 11-0!" I just tell him that I would have gone 26-0. No matter how good you do, there's always a way to do even better.

"But, I'm stuck in 1500s because people leave in every game I play!" "How can I win when they're all so bad?" "We have no teamwork at all! What am I supposed to do?" So what? Do you think everyone else doesn't have their misfortunes? Do you think you're born under some unlucky star? What this means is you just have to...

2) Deal With It

Yea, that's right. Many players are too busy complaining to find a solution. "I got a 0-10 Scout in my team!" Carry that dead weight. "Someone in my team left!" Slaughter the opponent 4v5.