PDA

View Full Version : Glorious Caldavar

Sunshinee
04-05-2012, 09:16 PM
Dear reader,

The sun is setting over Newerth, and some early snowflakes are falling on me as I write my final words down. My deathbed will be a floor of dirty, cold leaves covering the cold, dirty grounds of Caldavar. Here at the end of things I have but one hope; that someone receives this letter, my memoirs, as it were, that it is not destroyed by these mournful snowflakes that bears down on it as arrows raining down on the soft skin of men. I hope my words will survive me, maybe they will one day find the eyes of some young man with his head full of heroes and honor.
I was a soldier once, clad in armor and pride, but before that, I was a writer. Adkarna is a city that loves it's poets and bards, especially if they tell of bravery and glorious death. I wrote many a story about proud warriors cutting their way up to Maliken Grimm himself, and many a story about these same warriors dying in the embrace of fair maidens. Now that I am writing my own story, I find I fell to a maiden fair, and she did not embrace me.
At some point or the other, while writing these texts of heroism, I started believing what I wrote myself, even though I knew it was all fiction. I began to long for participating in these glorious scenes. It did not occur to me, although now I cannot imagine how, that all my stories ended in death. Death was to me nothing but an apt ending for a story, an ending which did not require me to write sequels. Only now am I finding out, that death is the opposite of everything.