PDA

View Full Version : What is 'competitive play'?

Chucklenuts
10-08-2009, 10:31 PM
I'm relatively new to this game, and all i ever play are 'Pubs'. Is the difference between joining random games and competitive play simply 5v5 clan matches, or is there something i'm missing?

I apologize for my noobishness, but its bothered me for some time now.

Chucklenuts
10-08-2009, 10:32 PM
hmm this is definitely the wrong forum for this, apologies

ldelusionl
10-08-2009, 10:34 PM
There is a fairly large meta game element to this game, but a small percentage of that element is on the personal level. Team dynamics at the meta game level is what distinguishes Pub play from 5v5 Clan matches. There is a thread in here with advanced techniques and such.

Chucklenuts
10-08-2009, 10:36 PM
Alright thanks

FuzzyWuzzy
10-09-2009, 04:16 AM
Competitive play = No Scout players :D

Seriously though, competitive play involves teams playing together (tournaments, practice, etc).

As a team generally, there is:
- better coordination - they talk on the VoIP or Ventrillo, let other players know of runes, missing players, etc
- better hero combinations - no awkward lanes like 2 melee heroes, everyone knows what he is supposed to be doing
- better team coordination - most games are decided in team battles, a proper initiation and "chaining" of disables is crucial
- better map control - there is always one or even two players that buy wards to maintain vision of crucial areas - it's pretty uncommon to see ward buyers in pubs.

Overall, competitive play usually disregards heroes that do not have skills that can help the entire team. Usually this means that every hero needs to have a stun / slow / heal or some sort of usability in team fights.

Travakh
10-09-2009, 04:22 AM
I got pretty good in dota pubs but when I began scrimming everything went to a whole new level

And I learned bounty hunter was a bad hero.

Those were good times.

Tapioka
10-09-2009, 09:04 AM